
   FIRST JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA 
 

COURT OF COMMON PLEAS OF PHILADELPHIA COUNTY 
 

_________________________________ 
 

President Judge Administrative Order 
No. 2008-02 

__________________________________ 
 

In re: Increase in Prothonotary Fees Pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(4)  
 
 

ORDER 
 

 AND NOW, this  22nd day of December, 2008, pursuant to the Prothonotary Fee Bill, Act 81 
of 2006, 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725 (c)(4), which authorizes the Prothonotary to increase the fees or charges 
set forth in Section 1725 (c)(2) consistent with the percentage of increase in the Consumer Price 
Index for Urban Workers for the immediate three years preceding the increase, the Court takes 
Judicial notice that the total CPI increase for 2005, 2006 and 2007 is ten (10%) percent,  
 
 NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED that the 
Prothonotary of Philadelphia is ordered to increase the fees set forth in Section 1725 (c)(2) by ten 
(10%) percent effective January 5, 2009. 
 

 This Administrative Order shall be published in the Pennsylvania Bulletin.  The original 
Administrative Order shall be filed with the Prothonotary in a docket maintained for Administrative 
Orders issued by the President Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, and copies shall be submitted 
to the Administrative Office of Pennsylvania Courts, the Legislative Reference Bureau and the 
Supreme Court's Civil Procedural Rules Committee.  Copies of the Administrative Order shall be 
submitted to American Lawyer Media, The Legal Intelligencer, Jenkins Memorial Library and the 
Law Library for the First Judicial District, and shall be posted on the website of the First Judicial 
District of Pennsylvania: http://courts.phila.gov. 
 
 
     BY THE COURT: 
 
     /s/ Honorable Pamela Pryor Dembe 
     _______________________________________ 
     HONORABLE PAMELA PRYOR DEMBE  
     President Judge, Court of Common Pleas    
     Philadelphia County 
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First Judicial District of Pennsylvania 
2009 Prothonotary Fee Schedule 

 
The following Schedule itemizes the fees the Prothonotary of Philadelphia County is required to 

collect pursuant to the Prothonotary’s Fee Bill, effective Monday, January 5, 2009. 
 

As authorized by 42 Pa. C.S. §1725(c)(4), the filing fees reflect an increase of ten (10%) percent, 
which represents the CPI increase for 2005, 2006 and 2007. 

 

COURT OF COMMON PLEAS 
 

TRIAL DIVISION 
 

A. COMMENCEMENT OF ACTION 
 

  1) First Filing: Arbitration, Non-Jury & Petition Actions                         $302.98 
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iii)   $189.20   
     (b) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)        5.50    
     (c) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)               1.10 
     (d) Automation Development Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)            5.50 
     (e) Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa.C.S.  § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)            5.50 
     (f) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                37.84 
     (g) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725          37.84 
     (h) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01     10.00 
     (i) Judicial Computer Project/  42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (a.1)       10.00 
            Access to Justice (“J.C.P./A.T.J.”) Fee        
     (j)  State Tax     72 P.S. § 3172                   .50 
 

Note:  The Prothonotary must collect $11.00 for each defendant named in a document 
filed to commence an action, as required by 71 P.S. § 2108(b.1). 

 
 2) First Filing with Jury Demand                        $550.92 
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iii)  $189.20 
     (b) Jury Demand Fee    42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xvi)    177.10 
     (c) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)           5.50 
     (d) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)            1.10 
     (e) Automation Development Fee   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)       5.50 
     (f) Special Court Adm. Fee   42 Pa.C.S.  § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)            5.50 
     (g) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                73.26 
     (h) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725          73.26 
     (i) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01     10.00 
     (j) J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee      42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (a.1)          10.00 
     (k)  State Tax     72 P.S. § 3172                .50 
 

Note:  The Prothonotary must collect $11.00 for each defendant named in a document 
filed to commence an action, as required by 71 P.S. § 2108(b.1). 

 
 



 2

 3) Filing of a Lien as a First Filing                            $ 70.44 

     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xii)      $23.10  
     (b) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)        5.50 
     (c) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)         1.10 
     (d) Automation Development Fee   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)       5.50 
     (e) Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa.C.S.  § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)          5.50 
     (f) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                4.62 
     (g) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725         4.62 
     (h) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01     10.00 
     (i) J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (a.1)         10.00               
     (j)  State Tax     72 P.S. § 3172                 .50 
 

Note:  The Prothonotary must collect $11.00 for each defendant named in a document 
filed to commence an action, as required by 71 P.S. § 2108(b.1). 

 
 4) Appeals to Court of Common Pleas                               $170.04 
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa,C,S, § 1725(c)(2)(i)    $94.60 
     (b) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)          5.50 
     (c) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)          1.10 
     (d) Automation Development Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)          5.50 
     (e) Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)          5.50 
     (f) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(6)               18.92 
     (g) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725         18.92 
     (h) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01     10.00  
     (i)  J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee      42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (a.1)        10.00 
 

Note:  The Prothonotary must collect $11.00 for each defendant named in a document 
filed to commence an action, as required by 71 P.S. § 2108(b.1). 

 

 5) Judgment by Confession/Judgment From Other Jurisdiction                          $121.26 
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xi)    $59.40 
     (b) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)         5.50 
     (c) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)         1.10 
     (d) Automation Development Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)           5.50 
     (e) Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)           5.50 
     (f) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(6)               11.88 
     (g) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                  11.88 
     (h) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01     10.00 
     (i) J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee      42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (a.1)         10.00 
     (j)  State Tax     72 P.S. § 3172               .50 
 

Note:  The Prothonotary must collect $11.00 for each defendant named in a document 
filed to commence an action, as required by 71 P.S. § 2108(b.1). 

 
 6) Name Change Petition – Adult                                $302.98 
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa,C,S, § 1725(c)(2)(iii)  $189.20 
     (b) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)        5.50 
     (c) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)          1.10 
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     (d) Automation Development Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)           5.50 
     (e) Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa.C.S.  § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)           5.50 
     (f) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(6)         37.84 
     (g) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725        37.84 
     (h) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01     10.00 
     (i) J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (a.1)         10.00               
     (j)  State Tax     72 P.S. § 3172              .50 
 

Note:  The Prothonotary must collect $11.00 for each defendant named in a document 
filed to commence an action, as required by 71 P.S. § 2108(b.1). 

 
B. SUBSEQUENT PLEADINGS 
  
 1) Defendant First Filing                                 $154.54 
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(vi)   $ 94.60 
     (b) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)        5.50 
     (c) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)          1.10 
     (d) Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)         5.50 

     (e) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(6)           18.92 
     (f) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725        18.92 
     (g) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01     10.00 
   
 2) Jury Demand (If not paid previously)                               $247.94 
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xvi)  $177.10 
     (b) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(6)               35.42 

     (c) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725         35.42 
 
 3)  Defendant  First Filing, with Jury Demand                      $402.48 
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa,C,S. § 1725(c)(2)(vi)    $94.60 
     (b) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)                 5.50  
     (c) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)          1.10 
     (g) Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)            5.50 
     (d) Jury Demand Fee    42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xvi)    177.10 
     (f)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)        54.34 
     (e) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725       54.34 
              (h) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01     10.00 
 
 4)  Petitions / Motions (Excluding “Petition Actions”)                             $ 52.68  
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xiii)       $29.70 
     (b) Record Retention Fee   42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xvii)            1.10 
     (c) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                         5.94 
     (d) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725            5.94 
             (e) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01     10.00 
 

 5)  Certification or Certificate                              $ 41.58*     
 (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(ii)      $29.70 
     (b) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725((c)(2)(6)(i)          5.94 
     (c) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725            5.94 
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 6)  Exemplification                                $83.16* 
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(ii)       $59.40 
     (b) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(6)            11.88 
     (c) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725          11.88 
 

 *Please Note: Pursuant to 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(ii) the Prothonotary must collect 
 $3.00 per each additional page together with the Law Library Fee of $0.60 and Family                        
 Court Facility Fund Fee of $0.60 for a total of $4.20 per additional page. 

 
 7)  Issuance of Subpoena – as authorized by Pa.R.C.P. 234.2             $ 7.70 
      (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xv)         $5.50 
      (b) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                  1.10 
      (c) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725            1.10 
 
 8)  Producing a Record in Response to a Subpoena                  $66.22 
     (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xv)        $47.30 
         In Response to subpoena based on four hour service or fraction thereof. 
     (b)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                9.46 
     (c)  Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725              9.46 
 

Note: Pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xv) the Prothonotary  must collect $11.00 per hour beyond  
four hour service or fraction thereof, and 00.365 for each mile traveled for service out of county. 

 

 9)  Name Search                          $58.52 
      (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S.   1725(c)(2)(xiv)      $ 41.80 
      (b) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S.   1725(c)(6)                8.36 
      (c) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S.  § 1725                  8.36 
 
 10)  Non-Party Docket Report  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)                                 $5.50  
 
 11)  Appeal from Arbitration (without Jury Demand)                            $367.44 
      (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(i)     $94.60 
      (b) Arbitrator’s Compensation  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(i) and     225.00   
                       Pa.R.C.P. No. 1308 & Phila.Civ.R. *1308                                           
      (c) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)             18.92 
      (d) Law Library     See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                          18.92 
      (e) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01      10.00 
 
 12)  Appeal from Arbitration (with Jury Demand) (if jury fee not previously paid)   $615.38   
      (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(i)     $94.60 
      (b)  Jury Demand    42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xvi)              177.10 
      (c)  Arbitrator’s Compensation  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(i) and 
                         Pa.R.C.P. No. 1308 & Phila.Civ.R. *1308                             225.00      
      (d)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)               54.34 
      (e)  Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                          54.34 
               (f)  Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01      10.00 
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 13)  Appeal to Supreme, Superior or Commonwealth Court                           $257.94 
       (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(i)    $177.10 
       (b)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S.  § 1725(c)(6)               35.42 
                (c) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                         35.42 
                (d) Electronic Filing Fee   Administrative Order 2008-01      10.00  
          

FAMILY COURT 
 
A.  DIVORCE     
 1)  Commencement of Action                                                                $303.48   
      (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iii)   $189.20 
      (b)  Automation Maintenance Fee 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)                5.50 
      (c)  Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)            1.10 
      (d)  Automation Development Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)         5.50 
         (e)  Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)            5.50 
      (f)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(6)         37.84 
      (g)  Law Library    See 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725                  37.84 
      (h)  J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee      42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (A.1)         10.00 
        (i)  Children’s Trust Fund   11 P.S. § 2238        10.00  
          (j)  Vital Statistics Law    35 P.S. § 450.602                  .50    
      (k)  State Tax     72 P.S. § 3172                .50 
 
 2)  Defendant First Filing                                 $144.54 
      (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa. C.S.§ 1725(c)(2)(vi)        $94.60 
      (b)  Automation Maintenance Fee 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)              5.50 
      (c)  Judicial Education    42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)            1.10 
      (d)  Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa C.S.   § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)       5.50 
               (e) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S.  § 1725(c)(6)            18.92 
      (f)  Law Library     See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                 18.92 
           
 3) Praecipe to Transmit                                                $66.22 
     (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(vi)             $47.30 
     (b)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                       9.46 
       (c)  Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                       9.46 
 
 4)  Motion for Appointment of Permanent Master                             $496.98    
     (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(vii)      $354.20 
     (b)  Record Retention   42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xvii)                 1.10 
     (c)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                       70.84 
     (d)  Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                      70.84 
 

 5)  Name Change Petition -Petition to Amend Birth Certificate -Minor             $293.48  
     (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iii)  $189.20 
     (b)  Automation Maintenance Fee 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)                 5.50 
     (c)  Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)              1.10 
     (d)  Automation Development Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)         5.50 
     (e)  Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)             5.00 
     (f)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                  37.84 
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     (g)  Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725        37.84    
     (h)  J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee      42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (A.1)         10.00 
     (i)  Vital Statistics Law   35 P.S. § 450.602                     .50 
      (j)  State Tax     72 P.S. § 3172                 .50 
                                                             
 
B. CUSTODY    
 
 1)  First Filing: Custody, Partial Custody, or Visitation                  $ 76.88 
     (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(v)             $35.20 
     (b)  Automation Maintenance Fee 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)              5.50 
     (c)  Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)             1.10 
     (d)  Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)                 5.50 
     (e)  Automation Development Fee    42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)                5.50 
         (f)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S.  § 1725(c)(6)                         7.04 
     (g)  Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                           7.04 
       (h)  J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee      42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (a.1)                         10.00 
 
 2)  Respondent’s First Responsive Filing                    $ 36.74   
     (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(v)             $17.60 
     (b) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)            5.50 
     (c)  Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)                 1.10 
     (d) Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)                 5.50 
     (e)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                          3.52 
     (f)  Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                           3.52 
 
 3) Subsequent Custody Petitions or Motions                               $ 42.68 
     (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xiii)             $29.70 
       (b)  Record Retention Fee   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xvii)            1.10 
     (c)  Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                          5.94 

         (d)  Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                           5.94 
     
 4)  Custody Certifications                       $ 41.58 

      (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(ii)             $29.70 
      (b) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                         5.94 
         (c) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                           5.94 
 
 5)  Home Investigation – Family Court Administrative Reg. #91-2                             $200.00 
 
 6)  Psychological Evaluation-Family Court Administrative Reg. #91-2                     $200.00 
 
C. SUPPORT 
 
 1)  Initiation of Support Proceedings (Complaint/Petition)                            $ 10.00   
       J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee       42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (a.1) 
        
 2)  Lien Certification or Report of Overdue Support Obligation                            $ 20.00 
      Domestic Relations  Code   23 Pa.C.S. § 4352(d.1)(6)   
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D. ADOPTION 
 
 1) First Filing: Adoption                                 $293.48  
     (a)  Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iii)            $189.20 
     (b) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)                 5.50 
     (c) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)                 1.10  
     (d) Automation Development Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)                5.10 
 
        (e) Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)                 5.50 
     (f) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S.  § 1725(c)(6)               37.84 
              (g) Law Library    See 42 Pa.C.S. § 1725                        37.84 
      (h) J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee      42 Pa.C.S. § 3733 (A.1)               10.00   
      (i) Vital Statistics Law   35 P.S. § 450.602            .50 
          (j) State Tax     72 P.S. § 3172            .50 
 
 2) First Filing: Registration of Foreign Birth & Gestational Carrier Petition                         
  same as First Filing: Adoption 
   

 3)  First Filing: Report of Intent to Adopt (Adoption with Counseling)              $368.48 
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iii)        $189.20    
     (b) Automation Maintenance Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)                5.50 
     (c) J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee      42.Pa.C.S. § 3733 (a.1)                        10.00 
     (d) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)                 1.10 
     (e) Automation Development Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)             5.50 
         (f) Special Court Adm. Fee   42 Pa C.S.  § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)                5.50 
     (g) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                    37.84 
     (h) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                         37.84 
     (i) Counseling Fee    23 Pa. C.S. § 2505(e)                75.00 
         (j) Vital Statistics Law   35. P.S. § 450.602              .50 
             (k) State Tax     72 P.S. § 3172                     .50  
 

 4)  Certificate of Adoption (upon finalization of Adoption)/                            $ 41.58 
      Certification of Termination Decrees  
     (a) Base Fee     42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(ii)          $29.70  
     (b) Family Court Facility Fund  42 Pa C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                     5.94 
     (c) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725                        5.94 
 
 5)   Request for Limited (Non-Identifying) Information                             $ 50.00 
         See 23 Pa. C.S. § 2905 and Family Court Administrative Reg. #99-9   
 
 6)  Request for Identifying Information                               $150.00 
      (which will only be disclosed upon consent of natural parents) 
        See 23 Pa. C.S. § 2905 and Family Court Administrative Reg. #99-9   
      
 
 
 
 



 8

E. PROTECTION FROM ABUSE 
 
Please Note:  The Protection from Abuse Act prohibits the charging of any filing fees to a  Plaintiff. 
The Act, however, authorizes the Court to assess fees and costs against a defendant when an order is 
granted. The fees listed below, therefore, are to be assessed against a defendant by the court which 
grants an abuse order against the defendant. 

 
 1)  Filing Fees and Service Costs – Payable as set forth in 23 Pa. C.S. § 6106(c) 
     (a)  Filing Fee                                   $292.98 
  (1) Base Fee    42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iii)  $189.20    
  (2) Automation Maint. Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(iv)            5.50 
  (3) Judicial Education   42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(x)                1.10 
    (4) Automation Development Fee  42 Pa.C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xviii)          5.50 
  (5) Special Court Adm. Fee  42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(2)(xxii)                5.50 
  (6) Family Court Facility         42 Pa. C.S. § 1725(c)(6)                       37.84 
  (7) Law Library    See 42 Pa. C.S. § 1725          37.84 
  (8) J.C.P./A.T.J. Fee      42 Pa. C.S. § 3733 (a.1)               10.00 
  (9) State Tax    72 P.S. § 3172                     .50 
 
    (b)  Service      - as per the Sheriff’s fee bill if served by the Sheriff:  actual cost (not to exceed 
       the Sheriff’s fee bill) if served as authorized by Pa.R.C.P. 1930.4(b) 
 
 2) Surcharge – Payable by Defendant upon Adjudication of Guilt                        $ 100.00 
          (after hearing or trial).  See 23 Pa.C.S. § 6106 (d).  
  
 3) Contempt Fine (See 23 Pa. C.S. § 6114)                             $300 to $1,000  
                 May be imposed upon sentencing for Indirect Criminal Contempt 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Date: December 22, 2008     Joseph H. Evers 
  Prothonotary of Philadelphia County 

 
  

 


